Current State/Suitability of the LX2160A/ClearFog CX LX2

Bottom line up front: How suitable is this combo for use in a homelab as a firewall, router, or converged appliance?

Background: I’m a data engineer by day and SBC/homelab enthusiast by night–my MACCHIATObin is still active in my rack. So I have some familiarity/experience working with Linux, Bash, Python, etc., but I’m very new to networking. I’m looking to replace my ISP’s router with my own device, taking this as a good opportunity to learn a bit more about networking hardware and software throughout this project. Additionally of note: while my service is multigig fiber, the only handoff from the ONT is RJ-45. In conjunction with this firewall/router device(s) project, I’m also upgrading my LAN to support 10G, potentially 40G trunk (My MikroTik CRS326-24S+2Q+RM switch has two QSFP+ ports).

The ClearFog CX LX2 is my top contender for the hardware, but before I commit I would like to have a better understanding of the benefits, and perhaps more importantly, the limitations of selecting this platform. After reviewing what I could find here and other places like Reddit, it seems the most recent discussion is at least several months old. I suspect there has probably been additional maturing/development since then. This brings me to my main question as well as:

• How much of an ordeal would it be to get up and running with pfSense/OPNsense or OpenWrt?
    • Out-of-the-box/plug-and-play, do I need to dust off my C reference books and deep-dive into patching kernels, or somewhere in-between?
  • Are there special considerations I should be aware of in order to fully utilize the hardware? For instance, the only thing I really know about DPDK is that it is more complicated than “traditional” networking and the usual tools for observability/debugging/monitoring won’t work, however I do see doc.dpdk.org has general “Getting Started Guides” for both FreeBSD and Linux, and OpenWrt specifically.